Tregaarden’s Christmas House, also known as the Julehusset, or House of Yule, is possibly the most famous holiday institution in Norway. A 19th century church that was later converted to its present use, it is one of the world’s most popular year-round Christmas stores thanks in part to the neighboring Christmas post office. Although not as large Wohlfahrt’s or Bronner’s, Tregaarden’s popularity with Santa-letter writers makes it famous among children in Western Europe.
Tregaarden’s began life as a church which opened in 1877 and was active until World War II. After a long period of dormancy, ths old building was acquired by Willy and Eva Johansen, who restored it and opened it as the Julehusset in 1988. It was perhaps inspired in part by the Santa Claus Village which opened in Rovaniemi, Finland just a few years earlier. In addition to the store, Tregaarden’s has its own post office inclusive of a Christmas postal stamp. This sent the town of Drobak into the Santa letter destination stratosphere.
The Tregaarden Julehusset is a classic Christmas store with a distinct Scandinavian flavor. Its setting in the town of Drobak, with many nearby buildings dating from the 18th century, evokes an earlier time that simply adds to the store’s atmosphere. In addition to the usual Christmas toys, ornaments and such, Tregaarden’s is well known for its holiday troll dolls. It also boasts a collection of hundreds of thousands of letters to Santa Claus.
Tregaarden’s Christmas House is located in Drobak, about twenty five miles south of Oslo. It is open year round (except for Christmas Day and usually a few days afterwards) from 10:00am-5:00pm (closes earlier on weekends and in winter). There is no charge for admission. Web: www.julehus.no (official website of Tregaarden’s Christmas House)